Man it’s been awhile…

By: chesshirecat

Dec 11 2008

Category: Update and thoughts....

1 Comment


Well, I’ve been around, but not in spirit.
I’ve been busy with my book business…and with keeping Mom healthy…and Jeff happy.
He is pressuring me to get back into Editing and pictures…seems I dropped off the face of the earth this past year in those regards. I was fearful that Jeff wouldn’t like me being busy with things outside of the home…and with me being gone to ride as much as I used to…so I haven’t been out lately.

So now, I have made the choice to get out more now, rain or shine. This includes starting a devoted time to walk. I think I will start out with a two mile trek at first…steadily working my miliage up.

I also will be riding more. This past year sucked big time…I thought I was doing something for my relationship…but…the “something” I was doing wasn’t good for it. So…I’ll be off and riding again soon.

I got stopped in Oct. for my helmet. I have been using that helmet since 05…gotten stopped several times, but no one ever mentioned my helmet till now. So I had to go out and buy a new helmet…I actually like the way this one feels….it’s not like the old DOT helmets…the ones that made me feel like I was wearing a parasail on my head! This one actually sits on my head without choking me. Still can’t do anything about the mushroom look…but what the hell…ya do what ya do!

It’s been raining here a lot lately,,, raining hard today…and yesterday…with snow expected tonight. So I’ll let ya know what is happening…I’ll be taking pictures on my walks…and I will let you tell me what you think of em…
Chessie
One comment on “Man it’s been awhile…”

  1. Well Hi there Chessie, I don’t know if you know/knew I quit smoking before femoral my by-pass. Mar’05 …Well cheer up a bit for the season just think of or hell call ole Pap LOL ;P . Glad to hear about your Book /Novela after you get yours published we can start working on mine.So you ride now like I always did. The best way ha? Well stop by my blog from time to time make sure I am still ticken.I’ll stop by yours from time to time.You remember Jeff? Guy with pool, the lady that owns that house had one of her dogs die this year.http://papsthoughts.blogspot.com/2008/09/tribute-to-losee.htmlLosee. Betty would be blown away if you dropped her a line speelmonb@cox.net Betty brought you and your visit up this past 4th of July. She still remembers your swim with Losee.Well you keep your chin up… Maybe this will help I wrote it back in ’69The Power of a Butterfly ..Walking down a path, I saw a water puddle ahead so. I angled my direction to go around it on the part of the path that wasn’t covered by water and mud. As I reached the puddle, I was suddenly attacked! Yet I did nothing, for the attack was so unpredictable and from a source so totally unexpected. I was startled as well as unhurt, despite having been struck four or five times already. I backed up a foot and my attacker stopped attacking me. Instead of attacking more, he hovered in the air on graceful butterfly wings in front of me. Had I been hurt I wouldn’t have found it amusing, but I was unhurt, it was funny, and I was laughing. After all, I was being attacked by a butterfly! Having stopped laughing, I took a step forward. My attacker rushed me again. He rammed me in the chest with his head and body, striking me over and over again with all his might, still to no avail. For a second time, I retreated a step while my attacker relented in his attack. Yet again, I tried moving forward. My attacker charged me again. I was rammed in the chest over and over again. I wasn’t sure what to do, other than to retreat a third time. After all, it’s just not everyday that one is attacked by a butterfly. This time, though, I stepped back several paces to look the situation over. My attacker moved back as well to land on the ground. That’s when I discovered why my attacker was charging me only moments earlier. He had a mate and she was dying. She was beside the puddle where he landed. Sitting close beside her, he opened and closed his wings as if to fan her. I could only admire the love and courage of that butterfly in his concern for his mate. He had taken it upon himself to attack me for his mate’s sake, even though she was clearly dying and I was so large. He did so just to give her those extra few precious moments of life, should I have been careless enough to step on her. Now I knew why and what he was fighting for. There was really only one option left for me. I carefully made my way around the puddle to the other side of the path, though it was only inches wide and extremely muddy. His courage in attacking something thousands of times larger and heavier than himself just for his mate’s safety justified it. I couldn’t do anything other than reward him by walking on the more difficult side of the puddle. He had truly earned those moments to be with her, undisturbed. I left them in peace for those last few moments. Since then, I’ve always tried to remember the courage of that butterfly whenever I see huge obstacles facing me. I use that butterfly’s courage as an inspiration and to remind myself that good things are worth fighting for. Merry Christmas, Happy and safe New Year Pappy XXOO


Leave a Reply

Miki's Highway

A Simply Natural Lifestyle

D. Brent Miller

Writer & Photographer

The Zombie Squad Elite

Gear to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

Girly Gabble

A women's lifestyle blog you NEED to read!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

This Blog Left Intentionally Blank

May contain nuts. Parental discretion is advised.

What's Hot with Bobber and Chopper Motorcycles

South Side Kustoms Bobbers and Choppers

Riding2up Blog

Riding2up Motorcycle Adventure

RoadsideWonders Annex

* a tiny little division of roadsidewonders.net

WELCOME TO THE LIMPNICKIE LOT

We are the next-gen motorcycle builders

Traveling250's Blog

Pain, Curiosity and a Bear

Yep

Attempts at things

The Bon Voyage Blog

Thoughts, experiences and opinions on travel to North America from the UK's leading USA tailor-made holiday experts.

Kelly Goddard

Photography from St. Augustine Fla.

I JUST WANT 2 RIDE!!

Our Motorcycle Blog about Motorcycle Stuff

Art Decor Portraits Blog

Tell us what you think?

Adventures and Curves Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

oklahomabiker

“I began OKLAHOMA BIKER to realistically portray the biker lifestyle to the citizenry of Oklahoma. Our mission is to communicate what it means to be an Oklahoma biker and to illustrate the brotherhood existing between Oklahoma bikers.”

sunhatenterprises

Just another WordPress.com site

