To Wisconsin and Home


View Larger Map

Tomorrow, Monday July 6th…I will be leaving for a road trip to South Beloit IL.
This is a town that sits on the Wisconsin/Illinois state line

I was doing a bit of research of South Beliot…and I’ve learned Beliot is a bastardization of a French word:Bellotte….meaning “pretty”. Beliot and South Beliot are NOT pretty…but from the history I’ve read, when the valley was first looked upon by white men, it was covered in Elm and walnut, with a beautiful river running through the valley. It was a farming community for about 100 years…then…the industrial revolution hit Beliot and South Beliot…what a blight this caused in this area…

But once out of the city…once again the countryside recovers, becomes farming again…and loveliness stretches as far as the eye can see…as well as corn…lots and lots of corn.

I will be taking the “famous” US 51 Route…from the TN. state line up into Beloit….with lots of small towns and great photo ops to take advantage of. I will be posting what I find of small town Americana here…with you guys sharing the fun things, the mundane things…and even the sad thing…the death of small towns due to lack of traffic….ect)….with you guys…it will be a great pictorial, and I hope you will come and see what KY and IL. small towns are offering us in the way of cultural riches….

10 comments on “To Wisconsin and Home”

  1. Greetings to you, Chessie!I just happen to come across your Blog and found that you like to do what we once did a while ago. That would be Touring the USA on a Goldwing Aspencade, pulling a Trailer behind us.Even though we don't ride the "Wing" anymore because of different reasons, I have always and will continue to remember the great times we had while riding the Wing.We have not been to as many States and places that you have. We have gone as far North as Vermont and as far South as South Carolina. Like you, we have rode in rain, cold, wind, and heat. Riding the open road lets you see and smell the country side as never before.I also noticed that you are from Johnson City, TN. In my younger years I used to travel to Greenville, TN most every Summer to visit relatives. The South still is and always be my favorite States to visit.I also must moderate my comments. I'm not too fond of it, but I've had a few stupid things put on my comment area. Why someone has to do that, I have no idea. Some people are just plain idiots! You stay well down there in TN. Nice to meet you and "Ride Safe." "It don't matter what you ride, just as long as you Ride!"

  2. I can't wait!! Have a great and safe trip! 🙂

  3. I KNOW you'll give us one of yer usual spectacular Chessie tours with some exceptionally beautiful pics to complete the ride….and *I* for one will be sittin' here waitin', filled with anticipation. So get back safe now, ya hear?

  4. good travels!!

  5. Hi Chessie, I grew up in Madison and now live in Green Bay, if you can make it up to the Devil's Lake Area/Baraboo/Wisconsin Dells, you will find some of the most breathtaking scenery you will ever see. I have traveled in and around the United States and I still find this one of the most beautiful areas I have ever seen and it is not just because I grew up here. Hope you catch it. Great Blog, loving it….Ride on.Tman

  6. Give me more nice pictures…

  7. While to see US with my own eyes remains an unrealizable dream, I will do it with yours, if you don't mind.Good trip!

  8. Chessie, Sounds like the kind of trips I tried to take back when I had lots of time. I hope you have a most enjoyable ride and get some great snaps. Be safe.John

  9. Hope to hear from u soon.. nice postings!

  10. i came across your blog in blogggers of note and i really found it interesting


Leave a Reply

Miki's Highway

A Simply Natural Lifestyle

D. Brent Miller

Writer & Photographer

The Zombie Squad Elite

Gear to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

Girly Gabble

A women's lifestyle blog you NEED to read!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

This Blog Left Intentionally Blank

May contain nuts. Parental discretion is advised.

What's Hot with Bobber and Chopper Motorcycles

South Side Kustoms Bobbers and Choppers

Riding2up Blog

Riding2up Motorcycle Adventure

RoadsideWonders Annex

* a tiny little division of roadsidewonders.net

WELCOME TO THE LIMPNICKIE LOT

We are the next-gen motorcycle builders

Traveling250's Blog

Pain, Curiosity and a Bear

Yep

Attempts at things

The Bon Voyage Blog

Thoughts, experiences and opinions on travel to North America from the UK's leading USA tailor-made holiday experts.

Kelly Goddard

Photography from St. Augustine Fla.

I JUST WANT 2 RIDE!!

Our Motorcycle Blog about Motorcycle Stuff

Art Decor Portraits Blog

Tell us what you think?

Adventures and Curves Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

oklahomabiker

“I began OKLAHOMA BIKER to realistically portray the biker lifestyle to the citizenry of Oklahoma. Our mission is to communicate what it means to be an Oklahoma biker and to illustrate the brotherhood existing between Oklahoma bikers.”

sunhatenterprises

Just another WordPress.com site

