COST BE DAMNED


SHE’S GOING UNDER THE KNIFE
Here she is…on the surgeon’s table…her oil tank has been removed, two tabs have been welded and rubber bushings installed.  The mechanic also found the battery box mount was broke as well.  Boys and girls, we got some welding going on.  

When I arrived this morning all that had been completed.  New  oil lines drifting here and there and the lower gear box was laying open…she was a sick girl.  

The first thing the mech. showed me was this strange image.  I’m looking at a Jim’s Lifter….with a spring in it that is much heavier than the other three. 

The lifter and spring on the right is the odd ball.  It appears to me like the springs we used on the big twins we built at Accurate Engineering in Dothan AL.  I’m telling you the truth, the compression rate HAD to be at least 3 times the compression rate of the other three springs.  I asked them…would this have done the racket?  I mean come on…I’ve been running these lifters like this (obviously) for over 150K.  The rockers looked really great….again it’s commented…for a bike with this kind of high mileage, everything up here in the rockers look really good.  The ball surface and the hammer surface look very good!

As I’m going through the exposed bike, I see some things that disturb me.  One is a heavy wire encased in heat shrink to protect it.  It’s worn through it’s casing, through the heat shrink and has even worn a groove in the lower case!  I have never seen this before.  The mech tells me it’s the wire that goes to the stator.  WoW…I’m thinking how the fuck is it that I haven’t had to replace a burnt stator by now?  Unbelievable.

 I’m looking at the splines for the sprocket on the final drive.  Dang…you know, I had noticed over the past couple years, a kind of jolt when the bike engaged the drive…I’ve never really thought about how the teeth of the spline will wear down like this…oh by the way …the sprocket in the picture is one he wanted to use…it’s smaller than the one in mine… which means I will lose top end. 

I will gain some bottom end, but I’m not a speed racer, I’m a high mileage rider…as it is, I’m always searching for sixth gear that I don’t have…so I am not going to cause my bike to scream at me asking for more….the sprocket he wanted to give me? Almost brand new, willing to give it to me fo$50.00 bucks.  Ordering one from them?  It would cost me almost 250.00 bucks…but…tell me this…for 200.00 dollar difference would you be happy with a loss of HP at the top end if you were a distance hauler like me?  I think the money means less than the ride.  Don’t you?   Of course they don’t have one in stock.

One last thing to mention.  The oil was coming from a hole worn in the oil line from being routed incorrectly before I bought the bike.  It was laying against a portion of the battery box…and wore plumb through.  The hole was as big as the tip-top of my little finger… Well whoulda thunk?

11 comments on “COST BE DAMNED”

  1. Wow, but cost be damned is right. You can't let a loved one go without a fight.

  2. I'm glad you decided to fix the Sporty..[Really tho..did you ever have a choice]The lifter issue is strange..but being in there for such a long time, I don't know what to make of it…could be the noise you mentioned…I'd place a call to Jim's to get their take on it.I'd love to hear the response.Keep us updated..

  3. Great pics…the lifter issue, weird??? Well let's hope the old girl doesn't cost you too much of an arm or leg! I am with you on the sprocket issue, go with what fits your riding style! Hopefully she won't be out of commission too long!

  4. I've never heard of just one oddball Jim's lifter. That's weird. My fronts are knocking something fierce, so I will be putting in a couple of pair of Jim's lifters myself this winter. Right now I have stock H.D. lifters.Regarding the bigger sprocket, Sucks you have to wait, but I'd wait too. You are making the right choice, even though it is a couple a hundred more, and waiting sucks. I, like you am always looking for that 6th gear while cruising at higher speeds.

  5. The reason he would give it to ya for 50 bucks is some other guy took it out and put a bigger gear in his so he got better top end. Left it with the shop.

  6. Yeah Pappy…I know your right…all the same, he was trying to help me out too. I don't care how he got it, if the customer left it there…I guess It's kinda like a tip…you know? I don't mind if he gets it…sometimes I figure they deserve it…if they can sell it…it's all the better for them.Still no answer with the larger spring in the lifter…waiting waiting waiting…Ladies and Gentlemen…we now present to you"The Waiting Game"…(Not to be confused with the Dating game…)Thanks for dropping by and leaving your messages…I really enjoy seeing what y'all are thinking when you see and visit my words here…

  7. Clearly, this is your baby and ride. The colors are coming, get it done and, if you gotta do it, might as well do it right. Fall is upon us, I will be "desk side" wish I was you.So, make it interesting, it get's really f*ing cold here in RI. Me; CA native stuck in some ice polar zone, barely a bit of sunshine. People get nasty with no vitamin D.peace, ride safeZeldaZorch (Man lover, just so you know who your talking to)

  8. Chessie, it's always bad having a family member in the Hospital. That lifter spring issue, I seem t recal one of our local sporty riders saying something similar. I'm trying to run him down now and see what it was. Got me curious. Hope it all comes together under an "arm and a leg".Johnhttp://bikin-ridin-nwa.blogspot.com

  9. Ouch 😦

  10. From the pics it looks as if the she is in a really good shape inspite of the milage. Bet it willbe nice taking her for a ride knowing she got the maintenance. I don´t like problems with my vehicles, my car has an ignition problem when the engine is cold, no prblem during summer but now winter is coming and the problem I had last winter remains, I have to get it fixed. (All my vehicles are "boys". I give them names and some I call by name, some not( my bike´s name is Rudolf)

  11. your baby looks all depressed useing her stand


Leave a Reply

Miki's Highway

A Simply Nomadic Lifestyle

D. Brent Miller

Writer & Photographer

The Zombie Squad Elite

Gear to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

Girly Gabble

A women's lifestyle blog you NEED to read!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

This Blog Left Intentionally Blank

May contain nuts. Parental discretion is advised.

What's Hot with Bobber and Chopper Motorcycles

South Side Kustoms Bobbers and Choppers

Riding2up Blog

Riding2up Motorcycle Adventure

RoadsideWonders Annex

* a tiny little division of roadsidewonders.net

WELCOME TO THE LIMPNICKIE LOT

We are the next-gen motorcycle builders

Traveling250's Blog

Pain, Curiosity and a Bear

Yep

Attempts at things

The Bon Voyage Blog

Thoughts, experiences and opinions on travel to North America from the UK's leading USA tailor-made holiday experts.

Kelly Goddard

Photography from St. Augustine Fla.

I JUST WANT 2 RIDE!!

Our Motorcycle Blog about Motorcycle Stuff

Art Decor Portraits Blog

Tell us what you think?

Adventures and Curves Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

oklahomabiker

“I began OKLAHOMA BIKER to realistically portray the biker lifestyle to the citizenry of Oklahoma. Our mission is to communicate what it means to be an Oklahoma biker and to illustrate the brotherhood existing between Oklahoma bikers.”

sunhatenterprises

Just another WordPress.com site

