A Ride Around the Lakes….


View Larger Map

Yesterdays ride wasn’t a long one. About 47 miles according to Google Maps. All the same, I spent 3.5 quality hours with my bike and with nature. It did me as much good as a six hour 200 mile ride around here….I felt renewed when I got home AND I had these great pictures to show you! So, here we go again….Fall in North Eastern Tennessee.

The first stop is at a great photogenic barn. The owner of the farm came over and talked to me. He has a 79 Low Rider…. I would like to ride that, I taught my mom to ride on a 79 low rider…what a classic great bike!

AND THE PHOTOS ARE TAKEN WITH A PRISTINE MEMORY CARD…SO THEY LOOK LIKE THEY SHOULD!

My next stop is on Steel Bridge Road. Lovely road…this is a Texaco sign…with no gas station in sight…it’s gone now, all but the cool sign.

At the same photograpic spot as the Texaco sign, are these bridge pilings. I suspect it was for a railroad, not a road…but I could easily be wrong.

This is just below TVA’s Wilber Dam. It’s on….yeah you guessed it: Wilber Dam Road. If you look closely, you will spot a fly fisherman in the water….

A trout hole…and Wilber Dam

We are still on Wilber Dam Road, this time we are above the dam. This is Wilber Lake.

This is a picnic area off Horsedam Road….

I liked the root system of this tree on the path…so I took a photo….

This is an overlook on Lookout Road below Watuga Dam.

Another view from the same area:

Here are a few more…absolute peace is what I derived from these spots…

This is off RT 321 as we travel up into the the mountains around Watuga Lake. It’s a Federal Park/picnic area…no one was here…it’s a lovely spot.

This is still at the park/picnic area…my bike and Lake Watuga…

This is from an Over Look off RT 321. National Forests are so cool, aren’t they?

From roadside Picnic area, once again this is off RT 321.

This is a marina that sits on the lake.

Returning to my bike after a hike to the Lake…

The sky on my ride home….does it get much better?

13 comments on “A Ride Around the Lakes….”

  1. Excellent. Thanks for the ride.

  2. Great photos…hows the little girl running…good i hope.Big Al

  3. Oh what a nice blog, beautiful photos and I love the description of yourselves. I´ll come back here. Thank´s for the ride.

  4. Chessie:You are lucky to be able to ride to places such as this so close to home. It's not about the distance, but rather the feeling it gave you and the memories and thoughts that go through your mind as you are in tune with nature and places of beauty. And you are right, a pristine memory card displays sharper photos with more colorbobbobskoot: wet coast scootin

  5. As usual fantastic photos and what a beautiful place to ride! I follow with interest.

  6. Love riding along with you like this. You seem to get some great rides in.

  7. Of all the paces I've lived, Eastern TN is hands down the best riding out there. Love the barn pic. The other pics remind me a lot of Watts Bar and the area down around the Cherokee National Forest on 64. Lots of good memories stirred up with this post – thank you.

  8. Fiddle Mike, there is nothing else I'd rather do…I love riding, I love finding the beauty that, in a car goes un-noticed…Al, thank you sweetie…you know on the way home, The bike started stuttering. I had a little less than a gallon of gas. I bet I got some crap gas. I'll need to drain it and start fresh.Mercury, thanks for coming! I am happy to oblige you, continue to ride, take pictures and share them here with all who care to click.bobscoot,I'm so darn thankful for being able to live in a place that provides so much scenic roads to explore!The Rider, I can't express how good the comments left here feel…no matter if I'm corrected or clapped on the back for my work…it all feels great!Webster World! thank you sir for stopping by and leaving a comment! So Cool of you to come!Kathy, I didn't realize you lived in this area…at one time, yeah…you know, beauty is everywhere…we just have to look around us as if we were seeing it for the first time!Thanks…everyone for stopping in…I hope you continue to enjoy and stop in for the great sights I'm able to find!Be well everyone

  9. How I'd love to putta nice log cabin up in them TN hills and have it be just me 'n all of nature's critters. No kids. No phones. Nuthin'. Mmmmmmm. Sounds like heaven.

  10. Looks like home. Beautiful. Even though I know it's cold, it makes me want to swim in that thar lake.

  11. what a great ride! i thank you and curse you at the same time. Thanks for letting me share that with you and curse you because i'm jealous that i didn't go for a ride. ok, i didn't curse you, but i am jealous…:O)

  12. Chessie, I really enjoyed your post, and the pictures of your area are beautiful! That Texaco sign in the midst of no Texaco station was very cool.

  13. Beautiful ride! Love the picture of the barn…you really have an eye for finding things that are photogenic 🙂


Leave a Reply

Miki's Highway

A Simply Natural Lifestyle

D. Brent Miller

Writer & Photographer

The Zombie Squad Elite

Gear to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

Girly Gabble

A women's lifestyle blog you NEED to read!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

This Blog Left Intentionally Blank

May contain nuts. Parental discretion is advised.

What's Hot with Bobber and Chopper Motorcycles

South Side Kustoms Bobbers and Choppers

Riding2up Blog

Riding2up Motorcycle Adventure

RoadsideWonders Annex

* a tiny little division of roadsidewonders.net

WELCOME TO THE LIMPNICKIE LOT

We are the next-gen motorcycle builders

Traveling250's Blog

Pain, Curiosity and a Bear

Yep

Attempts at things

The Bon Voyage Blog

Thoughts, experiences and opinions on travel to North America from the UK's leading USA tailor-made holiday experts.

Kelly Goddard

Photography from St. Augustine Fla.

I JUST WANT 2 RIDE!!

Our Motorcycle Blog about Motorcycle Stuff

Art Decor Portraits Blog

Tell us what you think?

Adventures and Curves Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

oklahomabiker

“I began OKLAHOMA BIKER to realistically portray the biker lifestyle to the citizenry of Oklahoma. Our mission is to communicate what it means to be an Oklahoma biker and to illustrate the brotherhood existing between Oklahoma bikers.”

sunhatenterprises

Just another WordPress.com site

