Another great day and RIDE in Tennessee!



View Larger Map



I left out of my house after walking my dog, getting breakfast for all in the house…and checking my email.  Walked to the carport…pulled the little girl into the driveway, cranked her up….ah she sounds so dang sweet.


I’ve decided to play tourist at Bristol Caverns.  It’s really a first for me…I have to pay $13.00 to go down in a hole in the ground….yeah, can ya believe this cheap ass gal is gonna open her pockets for a great trip down in the ground….


BUT…before I get there, I want to stop and get a picture of this stuff…..check it out!


Check out this barber shop’s sign here on the “back door”.



Are you gonna tell me this isn’t cool?


OK…Now I’m heading north on 19E.  It’s a four lane hiway that leads or rather dumps into 11E which is known as the Bristol Hiway.  This road will take you directly past Bristol Motor Speedway.  I don’t go there that way…I find a back road.  I head east on Hiway 44.  Heading toward Bluff City…I actually think this road is pretty darn good.





After I cross the rail road tracks in Bluff City, I come to this little park.  It’s really quite nice.
Geese, A rail car, water…cool stuff…














I left the park still heading East on 44…when somehow I got side tracked…and found myself on SR 394, which runs on the backside of Bristol Motor Speedway.  How the hell did I end up here? ah well…so if your looking at the map, you’ll see I stay on this road until I hit SR421.  As I am crossing the hiway onto SR421, I see this:





Tell me, how many of you have passed these signs where you live, without slowing down to see what it says?  Man so much history passing you by! STOP AND CHECK EM OUT!

I now have my GPS pegged to my ear…it takes me the rest of the way into Bristol Caverns! Love my GPS…it’s hooked up to my phone so I just follow Michelle’s voice!


Here we are!





I’m walking down into the caverns…I see all the stair heading DOWN, I’m a couch potato…figure out how bad that gets on the tour back up…there were seven people on our tour…I’m the only one who is puffing on the way back out…one of the guys on the tour is about sixty something…and he’s not even breathing hard! Rat bastard!

















There’s a whole bunch more…this is pretty impressive…right here in our own back yard…I think you guys would like it.  I did…and I recovered well from the climb…so should you!


I left out of the Caverns, with every intention of heading home…but I kept seeing the signs for TVA South Holston Dam.  I had to see it…. well here it is!

















This is on top of the earthen dam…in fact every one after this one is from on top!














Leaving from South Holston Dam I find my way back to SR44. Heading south this time…I find these treasures….so cool!


This log cabin home is very OLD…and people still LIVE in it!  Oh wow…cool!








Love this nice old barn…don’t you guys?





Well this is about it Folks…I’m on my way home!


13 comments on “Another great day and RIDE in Tennessee!”

  1. very cool ride!! Shooting caves is really tricky. every place I've been doesn't let you use a flash.

  2. Hi Marilyn! I am a biker from spain, just found your blog, nice, I will be back.

  3. Hey Chessie, here is a link to the website about the Quilt Trails. There you will find a link to the map showing all the locations of the quilt patches. I would guess that you could find some nice scenery around those spots.http://www.appalachianrcd.org/

  4. Gorgeous pics! Although my ride today was warm and sunny, TN still has the best riding anywhere.

  5. I love the sign about the Hippies Using the Back Door, Classic…

  6. I've ridden through Tennessee, but never in Tennessee. Another location I'll be putting on my extended ride plan for the future.The pictures are great and the weather looks perfect.

  7. I just love little rides like that one. I see all sorts of old places like that log cabin and find them fasinating. I had every intention of riding yesterday but I ciuld not get the men to move from the couch and as one of then was my guest, it would have been rude to leave. Your post makes me feel bad that I did not take my sporty out and enjoy the day from the seat. And I am a historic sign reader also. So much history all around us.

  8. wow, BEAUTIFUL!!!

  9. Man I love classic cars! :)Those caverns look pretty cool, I'd like to take a tour like that!

  10. Great post as always…got a question for you. What’s the snow like in your neck of the woods…do you get snowed in for months at a time or no snow to speak of? I only ask because I’ve been thinking of moving somewhere in the area but I have to admit I’m not sure about the snow. Don’t get much of the white stuff in Mississippi.Thanks for any helpBig Al

  11. Snowfall in my particular area is minimal. Average is around 5 inches a year. Can be a lot more in the mountains of course. But here, we are in a basin type valley, and Kingsport, Johnson City, Elizibethton…ect. receive light snowfall. That's not to say it don't get cold enough here for snow, but rather we are protected from heavy snowfall by the circle of mountians all around us. I love it here.

  12. Chessie, I really enjoy your posts and pictures. You have a nice touch; the pictures look so clear and focused! Loved the old cars – that red one looked to be in great shape.

  13. Beautiful pictures with the blue lakes. Nice cave, I have visited some like that in Spain, we don´t have any caves like that in Sweden. Lovley red Buick Le Sabre from 1960 I believe.


Leave a Reply

Miki's Highway

A Simply Natural Lifestyle

D. Brent Miller

Writer & Photographer

The Zombie Squad Elite

Gear to Survive the Zombie Apocalypse

Girly Gabble

A women's lifestyle blog you NEED to read!

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

This Blog Left Intentionally Blank

May contain nuts. Parental discretion is advised.

What's Hot with Bobber and Chopper Motorcycles

South Side Kustoms Bobbers and Choppers

Riding2up Blog

Riding2up Motorcycle Adventure

RoadsideWonders Annex

* a tiny little division of roadsidewonders.net

WELCOME TO THE LIMPNICKIE LOT

We are the next-gen motorcycle builders

Traveling250's Blog

Pain, Curiosity and a Bear

Yep

Attempts at things

The Bon Voyage Blog

Thoughts, experiences and opinions on travel to North America from the UK's leading USA tailor-made holiday experts.

Kelly Goddard

Photography from St. Augustine Fla.

I JUST WANT 2 RIDE!!

Our Motorcycle Blog about Motorcycle Stuff

Art Decor Portraits Blog

Tell us what you think?

Adventures and Curves Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

oklahomabiker

“I began OKLAHOMA BIKER to realistically portray the biker lifestyle to the citizenry of Oklahoma. Our mission is to communicate what it means to be an Oklahoma biker and to illustrate the brotherhood existing between Oklahoma bikers.”

sunhatenterprises

Just another WordPress.com site

